Day 1 – Finally Decided!

Monday was the Bupa 10k where I got to meet some of the lovely Janathoners abradypusfortnightfloshazruns, fairweatherrunner and plustenner
beforehand.  I was unusually calm but this was probably due to lack of training so decided to join shazruns in her pen.  We seemed to be waiting for ages so I was very pleased for the company.  It was a very well organised race, good commentators, minimal queues, I would definitely do it again.

The race itself demonstrated my lack of training recently.  I started with shazruns determined to run 9 min/miles and help her to 56 mins but by about 3 km I was finding the pace difficult, many excuses but basically there was nothing in my legs.
I did a pb last October of 50.44 but due to lots of reasons I have been training less recently including a break of about month and half.  So the lesson I learnt from Monday was whatever I was doing last year was good and I guess I have to build it up again.  Slightly frustrating but I guess this is just part of the challenges of running.

So to Juneathon………and I’ve spent the day debating, to join or not, well most of the week in fact and I did leave the girls on Monday by saying I was doing it but at 9.50pm I’m still not sure.  I suppose I don’t want to do it half-heartedly but I know that this time that is all I can fit in.

Decision time, I’ll give it a go after all it’s the taking part that counts.  I’ll plan to do some exercise each day(do giving massages and chasing children count?) and we’ll see how it goes…….

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!!

Day 1

Distance: 3.08 miles

Time: 30 mins 37 secs

 

